French designer Hervé Van der Straeten was born in 1965 and studied at the Paris École des Beaux-arts. His reputation grew from 1985 thanks to his graphic, sculptured jewellery collections. He has gained international recognition through the striking designs of his furniture, mirrors and lighting. Hervé Van der Straeten is truly independent and his work combines a radical freedom of expression with meticulous execution. Hybridization, elegance and refinement are his watchwords. The Van der Straeten Gallery, which opened in the Marais neighbourhood of Paris in 1999, includes one of a kind or limited edition pieces grouped in thematic exhibitions. These pieces’ strong presence renders them instantly recognisable. They are made in the bronze and cabinet-making workshops set up and expanded by the designer over the years.

He has also created items for leading luxury brands, many of which have become design icons such as Dior's "J’adore" perfume bottle, Guerlain's "KissKiss" lipstick and the "Excess" range for Saint Louis glass manufacturers, all of which demonstrate his product design skills.

Hervé Van der Straeten designs are now greatly in demand among major collectors, international interior designers and institutions.

His work is often featured in exhibitions abroad, in galleries such as Karsten Greve and Ralph Pucci, as well as at the biggest art fairs around the world such as TEFAF and PAD. The Mobilier National – official suppliers of furniture and decorative objects to the French state since the time of Louis XIV - as well as the Musée des Arts Décoratifs have both purchased pieces which are representative of his work.

Hervé Van der Straeten's workshops have earned a number of awards and in 2007 were named a "Living Heritage Business" (“Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant”) by France's Ministry of Culture while the company became a member of the Comité Colbert - an association set up to promote the concept of luxury - in September 2012. In 2008, Hervé Van der Straeten was named Chevalier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres.

Designer Français né en 1965 et formé à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Paris, Hervé Van der Straeten se fait connaître dès 1985 par ses collections de bijoux graphiques et sculpturaux. Totalement indépendant, il gagne une reconnaissance internationale grâce à ses créations de mobilier, miroirs et luminaire au style percutant. Le travail d’Hervé Van der Straeten allie une radicale liberté de ton à une exécution d’une grande qualité. Hybridité, élégance et épure déterminent sa démarche. La galerie Van der Straeten, ouverte à Paris dans le Marais en 1999 présente des pièces uniques ou en séries limitées regroupées en expositions thématiques. Ces pièces que la forte présence rend très identifiables sont réalisées dans les ateliers de bronze et d’ébénisterie que le designer a établis et développés au fil des années.

Il crée parallèlement des pièces devenues iconiques pour certaines grandes maisons de luxe : le flacon « J’adore » de Dior, le rouge à lèvres « Kiss Kiss » de Guerlain ou encore la ligne « Excess » pour les cristalleries de Saint Louis et illustrent ses compétences en design produit.

Les créations Hervé Van der Straeten sont aujourd’hui plébiscitées par les grands collectionneurs, décorateurs internationaux et institutions.

Son travail fait régulièrement l’objet d’expositions à l’étranger : dans des galeries telles que Karsten Greve et Ralph Pucci mais également dans les plus grandes foires internationales comme la Tefaf ou le PAD. Le Mobilier National – fournisseur officiel des meubles et objets décoratifs de l’Etat français depuis Louis XIV- ainsi que le musée des Arts Décoratifs ont fait l’acquisition de pièces représentatives.

Récompensée par de nombreux prix et distinctions, les ateliers ont reçu en 2007 le label « Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant » du Ministère de la Culture et la société est membre du comité Colbert depuis septembre 2012. Hervé Van der Straeten a été nommé en 2008 Chevalier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres.